I am grateful

In these troubled times, uncertain, heartbreaking, scary, I am grateful.

I am grateful for the roof over my head

I am grateful that I work for a solid business that is facing this crisis as well as it can so it can stay afloat and provide

I am grateful for the good health of my friends and relatives and pray it continues

I am grateful for my family that will keep me busy and smiling through potentially weeks of isolation.

I am grateful for my garden

I am grateful for my unborn baby who will be a candle of light and hope – as well as an all consuming occupation – for the next few months

I am grateful for my neighbors, who are already putting support whatsapp groups together to support the community

I am grateful for my chocolate addiction, which means I have enough in my cupboard to bake a cake with my daughters tomorrow

I am grateful I live in a country with a healthcare system that works

The current situation is here to stay. We may lose loved ones. Our lives are going to be incredibly disrupted. The economy will suffer. Bad things may happen around us. So I won’t preach and tell you that all can be sustained by keeping a positive outlook – this would be fucking stupid. But tonight, I am welcoming this wave of gratefulness for it makes me feel good NOW and gives me hope NOW. That’s all it is and it is good enough.

Leave a comment